My big crazy dwarf project

Have you ever started a project which seem amazing and crazy at the same time? Which gives you a great feeling at the thought of how it will turn out in the end, and at the same time makes you wonder if you’ve completely lost your mind?

Well… I started such a project. It was january of 2014 and I wanted to make something big. And geeky. So I turned the movie poster for the first Hobbit-movie into a cross stitch pattern. I wasn’t happy with the details though so I made it a bit bigger. And then a bit bigger. And then… By the time I was happy with the amount of details the pattern was… quite big. Very big. But I started and I am still working on it. I do quite a lot of cross stitching but I don’t think I’ll be done for a nother couple of years. I do take pictures of it from time to time though, both to show my friends and also to actually be able to see the progress. Even though I know the work is going forward I don’t really get a good perspective on how much I’ve done untill I look at the picture.

So for your amusement/amazement/horror… here are pictures of my work so far. I promise to continue updating you with the progress from time to time. 🙂

Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery

Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroideryGreen Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery

Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery

And yes, those are my feet. Gives you an idea of how big this is? 😉

And here are some wip-photos of Thorin, who is the last one I’ve made.

Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery Green Dragon Books | My big crazy dwarf embroidery

If you’ve ever made a craft project which seemed way too big or crazy or difficult I’d love to hear about it. Or if you have something really big you dream about doing but haven’t started yet. Please tell me! It would be so much fun to hear about and I would be reassured that I’m not as crazy as I feel. :p (I’m not, right?)

3 thoughts on “My big crazy dwarf project

  1. That is absolutely amazing! My current big dream is to make my own quilt pattern, which may not seem too crazy, but I’ve only just made my first quilt, so it feels really big to move up to that level of quilting! So if you can do this, I can surely do that! Keep it up!

    1. Sorry for not answering earlier. Thought I’d done so already. Making your own quilt pattern sounds amazing! I dream of making a big quilt to use as a picknick blanket, but I’ve never made a quilt before so it’s a bit daunting. Best of luck to you! Would love to se pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

