There Is Rape In Our Fandoms, Why Are You Surprised?

Not what I usually blog about but I thought this was a great text about rape and sexual violence in fandomes. I myself hadn’t realised how common place it actually is, and since I am in the making of creating a new world for a book I want to write I think I will remember this and have a long hard look at that world and what I choose to put in it.

Shoshana Kessock

The internet this week saw a tremendous uproar after this past week’s Game of Thrones episode, “Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken.” This is a show that prides itself on its last five minutes being intensely shocking and resulting in furious Monday morning blog posts and fights around the water cooler (or the internet equivalent, message boards and Facebook). Only this week’s fighting has been over something pretty heinous. And this is where the spoilers come in folks, so if you haven’t seen it yet, well, the rest of this article is spoilerific. It will also have discussion of Mad Max in it with some spoilers, so be aware. It will also be pretty triggery for discussions of sexual violence and screen caps from shows that might be triggery, so be warned. Whew, lots of warnings. With that out of the way, here we go.

gameofthrones

This week’s episode of GoT ended with the…

View original post 2,976 more words

Leave a Reply

